Digitization has changed the way people transact online. This has also impacted banking transactions. A few years ago, one had to visit the bank’s branch for most of the transactions. Things have changed drastically after 2018. Nowadays, several transactions can be completed from your smartphone without visiting a bank. You can transact online even on bank holidays. For example, if you live in Panaji, you can make an online fund transfer even on a bank holiday on a Saturday in Goa.

Goa Bank Holidays 2020 - Acko

However, not everyone performs all kinds of banking transactions online. People still have to visit a bank’s branch due to lack of online orientation or simply because they are comfortable performing some tasks offline as compared to online. If you belong to this category, you need to be aware of bank holidays. Many public and private enterprises are closed on bank holidays in Goa. Therefore, if you have some banking transactions lined up, you need to know about Goa’s bank holidays.

Bank Holidays Calendar in Goa in 2020:

List of Goa’s bank holidays calendar in 2020 includes Sundays and second and the fourth Saturdays of the month. State-specific days and days of national importance are also a part of the list of bank holidays in Goa. You can plan a trip well if you are aware of bank holidays in Goa.

Here’s a table featuring Goa’s bank holidays in 2020. Note that the dates mentioned in the table may be subject to change.

Bank holidays in Goa during January:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 11-Jan Second Saturday
Saturday 25-Jan Fourth Saturday
Sunday 26-Jan Republic Day

Bank holidays in Goa during February:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 08-Feb Second Saturday
Saturday 22-Feb Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Goa during March:

Day Date Holiday
Tuesday 10-Mar Holi
Saturday 14-Mar Second Saturday
Wednesday 25-Mar Ugadi
Saturday 28-Mar Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Goa during April:

Day Date Holiday
Friday 10-Apr Good Friday
Saturday 11-Apr Second Saturday
Tuesday 14-Apr Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayant
Saturday 25-Apr Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Goa during May:

Day Date Holiday
Friday 1-May May Day
Saturday 09-May Second Saturday
Saturday 23-May Fourth Saturday
Sunday 24-May EId-Ul-Fitr

Bank holidays in Goa during June:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 13-Jun Second Saturday
Saturday 27-Jun Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Goa during July:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 11-Jul Second Saturday
Saturday 25-Jul Fourth Saturday
Saturday 31-Jul Bakri Eid

Bank holidays in Goa during August:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 08-Aug Second Saturday
Saturday 15-Aug Independence Day
Saturday 22-Aug Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Goa during September:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 12-Sep Second Saturday
Saturday 26-Sep Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Goa during October:

Day Date Holiday
Friday 02-Oct Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday 10-Oct Second Saturday
Saturday 24-Oct Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25-Oct Maha Navami
Monday 26-Oct Dussehra

Bank holidays in Goa during November:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 14-Nov Diwali
Saturday 28-Nov Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Goa during December:

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 12-Dec Second Saturday
Saturday 19-Dec Goa Liberation Day
Friday 25-Dec Christmas
Saturday 26-Dec Fourth Saturday

Check: Bank Holidays List 2020 in India

Note: The holidays stated above are applicable in Goa including the places mentioned below.

  • Bicholim
  • Canacona
  • Cuncolim
  • Curchorem
  • Mapusa
  • Margao
  • Mormugao
  • Panaji
  • Pernem
  • Ponda

Check: India Public Holidays List 2020

Top Places to Visit in Goa:

Goa has and will always be a popular tourist destination thanks to its scenic beauty and charm. Tourists of all ages can enjoy a vacation in Goa. People from all over India and the world flock to this tourist-friendly destination to fulfil their wanderlust. You can plan a trip with your friends or bond with your family members in Goa.

You can de-stress by the beach if you want a relaxing holiday or you can party by the beach if you are the dancing type. There are ancient churches for religious tourists and there are adventure sports for adrenaline seekers. You can also do a bit of this and a bit of that because Goa has something for everyone. Listed below are some of Goa’s popular spots that you should consider visiting.

Agonda Beach: This beach has been ranked amongst top beaches in Asia consistently. It is famous for its peaceful environment. Compared to other beaches, this one is a bit isolated, however, one can still find cafes and shacks over there.

Baga Beach: If isolation is not your thing, you can head to Baga beach, which is a vibrant destination. The stretch connecting Baga beach and Calangute beach features several shacks and nightclubs. You can also opt for adventure tourism activities like paragliding, surfboarding, etc. over there.

Fort Aguada: This fort is situated in North Goa. The 17th-century fort was built by the Portuguese. It houses a lighthouse along with other buildings within its premises. Fort Aguada offers scenic views of the shoreline and the Arabian Sea.

Dudhsagar Falls: In full flow, the Dudhsagar Falls offers a majestic view. This is a must-visit place in the monsoon season if you love waterfalls. Among the mightiest waterfalls in India, the Dudhsagar Falls are based on Goa’s border with the neighbouring state of Karnataka.

Basilica of Bom Jesus: This catholic church is in old Goa and is 12 kilometres from Panaji. It is a UNESCO world heritage site and among the oldest churches in the country. Basilica of Bom Jesus is a revered site for Christians. The church is known for housing the mortal remains of Patron of Catholic Missions, St. Francis Xavier.


Read informative General Insurance Articles at Acko.

Having a vehicle insurance policy helps protect against damages to your vehicle under various circumstances. Stay upto date with the latest Car Insurance Articles and Two Wheeler Insurance Articles here.

Read all our insurance & non insurance related articles here.