Bank holidays in Kerala include both festivals and national holidays. Apart from these holidays, public and private banks are closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month. In this article, we have listed the Kerala Bank Holidays in 2020.

Kerala Bank Holiday List 2020 - Acko

Bank Holidays Calendar in Kerala:

Bank holidays calendar in Kerala consists of the mandatory, festival and national holidays. During these days banking transactions are unavailable to customers. However, with the advent of the internet, bank customers can perform certain transactions like transfer of funds through the online mode.

List of Bank Holidays in Kerala 2020:

Below is day, date and name of holidays observed by banks in Kerala during the calendar year 2020:

Bank Holidays in Kerala During January 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11 January Second Saturday
Saturday 25 January Fourth Saturday
Sunday 26 January Republic Day

Bank Holidays in Kerala During February 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8 February Second Saturday
Friday 21 February Maha Shivratri
Saturday 22 February Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Kerala During March 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 14 March Second Saturday
Saturday 28 March Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Kerala During April 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 10 April Good Friday
Saturday 11 April Second Saturday
Tuesday 14 April Vishu
Saturday 25 April Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Kerala During May 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 1 May May Day
Saturday 9 May Second Saturday
Saturday 23 May Fourth Saturday
Sunday 24 May Eid-ul-Fitr

Bank Holidays in Kerala During June 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 13 June Second Saturday
Saturday 27 June Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Kerala During July 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11 July Second Saturday
Saturday 25 July Fourth Saturday
Friday 31 July Bakrid/Eid-al-Adha

Bank Holidays in Kerala During August 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8 August Second Saturday
Saturday 15 August Independence Day
Saturday 22 August Fourth Saturday
Sunday 30 August Muharram/First Onam
Monday 31 August Thiruonam

Bank Holidays in Kerala During September 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Wednesday 2 September Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti
Saturday 12 September Second Saturday
Monday 21 September Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi
Saturday 26 September Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Kerala During October 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 2 October Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday 10 October Second Saturday
Saturday 24 October Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25 October Maha Navami
Monday 26 October Vijaya Dashami
Friday 30 October Eid-e-Milad

Bank Holidays in Kerala During November 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 14 November Diwali/Second Saturday
Saturday 28 November Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Kerala During December 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 December Second Saturday
Friday 25 December Christmas
Saturday 26 December Fourth Saturday

Check: Bank Holidays List 2020 in India

Note: The list of Kerala bank holidays is applicable across the state including the cities listed below:

  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Kochi
  • Kozhikode
  • Kollam
  • Kannur
  • Thalasery
  • Munnar
  • Allapuzha
  • Thrissur
  • Kottayam
  • Palakkad

Check: India Public Holidays List 2020

Places to Visit During Holidays in Kerala:

Are you planning a trip to Kerala? Then you should visit some of the below-mentioned places:

Alappuzha (Alleppey): Alappuzha, which was earlier called Alleppey, is popularly referred to as the Backwater Capital of India. Located on the banks of Vembanad lake, Alappuzha is known for its serene location. You can book a houseboat and enjoy nature and savour delicacies of Kerala. You can also visit Ayurvedic centres or take a village walk to learn about the culture and traditions of the state of Kerala.

Wayanad: Wayanad is part of the beautiful western ghats and it does not cease to amaze with its pristine jungle and mountains. There are several homestays and resorts in different locations where you can unwind from a hectic work-life.

Kochi: Kochi was previously called Cochin and is a famous trading city of Kerala. Apart from the serene beaches, the city also boasts of several religious monuments such as the Jewish synagogue. Kochi is served by an airport and the city railway station.

Munnar: Munnar is a hill station closer to the city of Kochi. The tea plantations and the weather is excellent for a vacation to a hill station in southern India. Newly married couples choose Munnar as their honeymoon destination.

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum): Thiruvananthapuram is the capital city of Kerala. It is the cultural centre of the state of Kerala. One can visit the city to witness the famous Kathakali performance or visit one of the centres for ayurvedic treatment for body, mind and soul.


Read informative General Insurance Articles at Acko.

Having a vehicle insurance policy helps protect against damages to your vehicle under various circumstances. Stay upto date with the latest Car Insurance Articles and Two Wheeler Insurance Articles here.

Read all our insurance & non insurance related articles here.