On the second and fourth Saturdays of the month, Public Sector Undertaking (PSU) banks and commercial banks remain closed. Banks in Maharashtra observe several other holidays during the calendar year. Read ahead to know the list of Maharashtra bank holidays in 2020.

Maharashtra Bank Holiday - Acko

Bank Holidays Calendar in Maharashtra:

Banks in Maharashtra remain closed on the mandatory second and fourth Saturdays of the month. Maharashtra bank holidays calendar also include national holidays as well as holidays unique to the state. Businesses and other institutions are closed during bank holidays in Maharashtra.

List of Bank Holidays in Maharashtra 2020:

Below is the list of Maharashtra bank holidays with date, day and the holiday name:

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During January 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 January Second Saturday
Saturday 25 January Fourth Saturday
Sunday 26 January Republic Day

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During February 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8 February Second Saturday
Tuesday 19 February Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti
Friday 21 February Maha Shivratri
Saturday 22 February Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During March 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Tuesday 10 March Holi
Saturday 14 March Second Saturday
Wednesday 25 March Gudi Padwa
Saturday 28 March Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During April 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Thursday 2 April Ram Navami
Sunday 6 April Mahavir Jayanti
Friday 10 April Good Friday
Saturday 11 April Second Saturday
Tuesday 14 April Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
Saturday 25 April Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During May 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 1 May Maharashtra Day
Thursday 7 May Buddha Purnima
Saturday 9 May Second Saturday
Saturday 23 May Fourth Saturday
Sunday 24 May Eid-ul-Fitr

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During June 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 13 June Second Saturday
Saturday 27 June Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During July 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11 July Second Saturday
Saturday 25 July Fourth Saturday
Friday 31 July Bakrid/Eid-al-Adha

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During August 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8 August Second Saturday
Saturday 15 August Independence Day
Monday 17 August Parsi New Year
Saturday 22 August Ganesh Chaturthi/Fourth Saturday
Sunday 30 August Muharram

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During September 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 September Second Saturday
Saturday 26 September Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During October 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 2 October Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday 10 October Second Saturday
Saturday 24 October Fourth Saturday
Monday 26 October Vijaya Dashami
Friday 30 October Eid-e-Milad

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During November 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 14 November Diwali/Second Saturday
Saturday 28 November Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During December 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 December Second Saturday
Friday 25 December Christmas
Saturday 26 December Fourth Saturday

Check: Bank Holidays List 2020 in India

Note: The list of Maharashtra bank holidays is applicable across the state. Also, it is applicable to the below cities:

  • Pune
  • Mumbai
  • Aurangabad
  • Nagpur
  • Nashik
  • Solapur
  • Navi Mumbai
  • Amravati
  • Kolhapur
  • Chandrapur
  • Akola
  • Latur
  • Ahmednagar
  • Kalyan
  • Thane
  • Jalgaon
  • Panvel
  • Vasai-Virar

Check: India Public Holidays List 2020

Places to Visit During Bank Holidays in Maharashtra:

By planning your leaves along with public or bank holidays, you can visit some of the best tourist destinations in Maharashtra. Below are some of the top tourist places to visit in Maharashtra:

  • Mumbai: The financial capital of India, Mumbai is also the home to Bollywood. Mumbai is known for its cosmopolitan nature and the fast-paced life. Apart from colonial architecture, the city boasts of must visit places such as Gateway of India, Marine Drive, etc.
  • Ajanta and Ellora Caves: Situated in Aurangabad, Ajanta and Ellora caves are UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The caves are the largest rock-cut monastery cave complexes in the world. People from across the world visit the caves which were built in the 2nd century.
  • Matheran: Matheran is the closest hill station to the city of Mumbai. Discovered by the British in 1850, at the height of 2625 feet, the hill station is a must-visit for its serene location and cool weather.
  • Panchgani: Located closer to Mahabaleshwar, the popular hill station is known for its breathtaking views and cool weather. One can spend some quality time at a resort or take a trek or walk in the serene hill station.


Read informative General Insurance Articles at Acko.

Having a vehicle insurance policy helps protect against damages to your vehicle under various circumstances. Stay upto date with the latest Car Insurance Articles and Two Wheeler Insurance Articles here.

Read all our insurance & non insurance related articles here.