Public Sector Undertaking (PSU) and Commercial Banks across the country remain closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of every month. Banks in Tamil Nadu observe both national and festival holidays during the calendar year. We have compiled the list of Tamil Nadu Bank Holidays in 2021.

Tamil Nadu Bank Holiday List 2021 - Acko

Bank Holidays Calendar in Tamil Nadu:

Apart from the mandatory Tamil Nadu bank holidays calendar, festivals holidays are observed during the year as well. Banking transactions are not available during bank holidays in Tamil Nadu; however, with the advent of online transactions, customers can log in to their account and avail certain banking services.

List of Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu 2021:

We have compiled the list of bank holidays in Tamil Nadu with day, date and name:

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During January 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Friday1 JanuaryNew Years Day
Saturday9 JanuarySecond Saturday
Thursday14 JanuaryPongal
Friday15 JanuaryThiruvalluvar Day
Saturday23 JanuaryFourth Saturday
Tuesday26 JanuaryRepublic Day

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During February 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday13 FebruarySecond Saturday
Saturday27 FebruaryFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During March 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday13 MarchSecond Saturday
Saturday27 MarchFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During April 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Friday2 AprilGood Friday
Saturday10 AprilSecond Saturday
Tuesday13 AprilTamil New Years Day
Wednesday14 AprilTamil New Years Day/Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
Saturday24 AprilFourth Saturday
Sunday25 AprilMahavir Jayanti

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During May 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday1 MayMay Day
Saturday8 MaySecond Saturday
Thursday13 MayEid-ul-Fitr
Saturday22 MayFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During June 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday12 JuneSecond Saturday
Saturday26 JuneFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During July 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday10 JulySecond Saturday
Tuesday20 JulyEid al Adha / Bakrid
Saturday24 JulyFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During August 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday14 AugustSecond Saturday
Sunday15 AugustIndependence Day
Thursday19 AugustMuharram
Saturday28 AugustFourth Saturday
Monday30 AugustJanmashtami

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During September 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Friday10 SeptemberGanesh Chaturthi
Saturday11 SeptemberSecond Saturday
Saturday26 SeptemberFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During October 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday2 OctoberGandhi Jayanti
Saturday9 OctoberSecond Saturday
Thursday14 OctoberMaha Navami
Friday15 OctoberVijaya Dashami
Tuesday19 OctoberEid-e-Milad
Saturday23 OctoberFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During November 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday6 NovemberDeepavali
Saturday13 NovemberSecond Saturday
Saturday27 NovemberFourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During December 2021

DayDateHoliday Name
Saturday11 DecemberSecond Saturday
Saturday25 DecemberChristmas

List of Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu 2020:

We have compiled the list of bank holidays in Tamil Nadu with day, date and name:

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During January 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Wednesday 1 January New Years Day
Saturday 12 January Second Saturday
Wednesday 15 January Pongal
Thursday 16 January Thiruvalluvar Day
Saturday 25 January Fourth Saturday
Sunday 26 January Republic Day

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During February 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8 February Second Saturday
Saturday 22 February Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During March 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 14 March Second Saturday
Wednesday 25 March Telugu New Years Day
Saturday 28 March Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During April 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Wednesday 1 April Closing of Accounts for Commercial and Co-Operative Banks
Sunday 6 April Mahavir Jayanti
Friday 10 April Good Friday
Saturday 11 April Second Saturday
Tuesday 14 April Tamil New Years Day/Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
Saturday 25 April Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During May 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 1 May May Day
Saturday 9 May Second Saturday
Saturday 23 May Fourth Saturday
Monday 25 May Eid-ul-Fitr

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During June 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 13 June Second Saturday
Saturday 27 June Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During July 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11 July Second Saturday
Saturday 25 July Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Maharashtra During August 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 1 August Bakrid
Saturday 8 August Second Saturday
Tuesday 11 August Krishna Jayanthi
Saturday 15 August Independence Day
Saturday 22 August Vinayakar Chaturthi/Fourth Saturday
Sunday 30 August Muharram

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During September 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 September Second Saturday
Saturday 26 September Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During October 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 2 October Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday 10 October Second Saturday
Saturday 24 October Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25 October Ayutha Pooja
Monday 26 October Vijaya Dashami
Friday 30 October Eid-e-Milad

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During November 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 14 November Diwali/Second Saturday
Saturday 28 November Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During December 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 December Second Saturday
Friday 25 December Christmas
Saturday 26 December Fourth Saturday

Check: Bank Holidays List 2021 in India

Note: The list of Tamil Nadu bank holidays is applicable across the state. Below are some of the cities:

  • Chennai
  • Coimbatore
  • Madurai
  • Salem
  • Tiruchirapalli
  • Erode
  • Thanjavur
  • Tirunelveli
  • Tiruppur
  • Thoothukudi
  • Hosur

Check: India Public Holidays List 2021

Places to Visit During Holidays in Tamil Nadu:

Banking services remain unavailable during bank holidays in Tamil Nadu. Planning your visits to Tamil Nadu during long weekends will ensure you restrict the use of leaves. Here some of the best destinations that you may want to visit when you are holidaying in Tamil Nadu:

  • Thanjavur: The historic town of Tamil Nadu boasts of brilliant temple and monument architecture built during the 11th century. The Brihadeeshwarar Temple is a must visit if you are in Tamil Nadu.
  • Madurai: The skyline of the city is dotted with 14 colourful gopurams of the ancient Meenakshi Amman Temple. Millions of processions and ceremonies are held in the temple for the ardent devotees of Lord Vishnu and Goddess Meenakshi.
  • Mudumalai: Mudumalai is India’s first Biosphere Reserve and was declared a tiger reserve by the state government in 2007. Visitors are treated to wildlife safaris, eco-tourism, and you can also stay in the Mudumalai Tiger Reserve accommodation.
  • Chennai: The capital city of Tamil Nadu, Chennai is known as the gateway to south India. The city offers an insight into the traditions and culture of the Tamils. From movie theatres to beaches, Chennai is an excellent metro city with roots to its Tamil traditions.


Read informative General Insurance Articles at Acko.

Having a vehicle insurance policy helps protect against damages to your vehicle under various circumstances. Stay upto date with the latest Car Insurance Articles and Two Wheeler Insurance Articles here.

Read all our insurance & non insurance related articles here.