Bank holidays in Uttar Pradesh (UP) include both festivals and national holidays. Also, public sector undertakings (PSU) and commercial banks are closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month. In this article, we have listed the Uttar Pradesh Bank Holidays in 2020.

Uttar Pradesh Bank Holiday List 2020 - Acko

Bank Holidays Calendar in Uttar Pradesh:

During bank holidays calendar in UP, which includes festivals, national and the mandatory holidays, banking transactions are not available at their respective branches. Customers can perform certain bank transactions such as transfer of funds through the online mode.

List of Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh 2020:

Below is day, date and name of holidays observed by banks in Uttar Pradesh during the calendar year 2020:

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During January 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Wednesday 15 January Makar Sankranti
Saturday 25 January Fourth Saturday
Sunday 26 January Republic Day

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During February 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8 February Second Saturday
Friday 21 February Maha Shivratri
Saturday 22 February Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During March 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Monday 9 March Birthday of Hazrat Ali
Tuesday 10 March Holi
Saturday 14 March Second Saturday
Saturday 28 March Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During April 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Sunday 6 April Mahavir Jayanti
Friday 10 April Good Friday
Saturday 11 April Second Saturday
Tuesday 14 April Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti
Saturday 25 April Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During May 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Thursday 7 May Buddha Purnima
Saturday 9 May Second Saturday
Saturday 23 May Fourth Saturday
Sunday 24 May Eid-ul-Fitr

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During June 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 13 June Second Saturday
Saturday 27 June Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During July 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11 July Second Saturday
Saturday 25 July Fourth Saturday
Friday 31 July Bakrid/Eid-al-Adha

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During August 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Monday 3 August Raksha Bandhan
Saturday 8 August Second Saturday
Tuesday 11 August Janmashtami
Saturday 15 August Independence Day
Saturday 22 August Fourth Saturday
Sunday 30 August Muharram

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During September 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 September Second Saturday
Saturday 26 September Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During October 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 2 October Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday 10 October Second Saturday
Saturday 24 October Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25 October Maha Navami
Monday 26 October Vijaya Dashami
Friday 30 October Eid-e-Milad

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During November 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 14 November Diwali/Second Saturday
Monday 16 November Bhai Dooj
Saturday 28 November Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh During December 2020:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 December Second Saturday
Friday 25 December Christmas
Saturday 26 December Fourth Saturday

Check: Bank Holidays List 2020 in India

Note: The list of Uttar Pradesh bank holidays is applicable across the state including the cities listed below:

  • Lucknow
  • Agra
  • Noida
  • Kanpur
  • Ayodhya
  • Varanasi
  • Ghaziabad
  • Meerut
  • Firozabad
  • Prayagraj
  • Aligarh

Check: India Public Holidays List 2020

Places to Visit During Holidays in Uttar Pradesh:

If you are planning to visit Uttar Pradesh for a holiday, then you might consider the following popular places in UP:

Agra: If you are vacationing in Uttar Pradesh you can’t simply miss visiting Agra, especially the Taj Mahal. The monument, considered as one of the wonders in the world, is visited by tourists from around the world for its grandeur and architecture. Also, you can visit the city’s two more UNESCO World Heritage Sites, the Fatehpur Sikri and the Agra Fort.

Varanasi: Varanasi is the epitome of culture, religion, history and art. Situated along the banks of the sacred Ganges river, the city is one of the world’s oldest cities. Hindus across the globe wish to take a dip in the holy river Ganges at least once in their lifetime. If you are visiting Varanasi, you should plan to coincide with the Ganga Aarti, considered a must-visit place when you are in the city.

Sarnath: Sarnath is the place where Lord Buddha gave his first sermon and it is one of the most important Buddhist sites in the world. During the reign of Emperor Ashoka, several stupas and monasteries were built. On Buddha Purnima, which falls in the month of April or May, millions of followers of Buddha flock to the Sarnath to take part in the festivities.

Ayodhya: Ayodhya is Lord Rama’s birthplace and is also one of the seven important places for Hindus to visit. The city attracts devotees and tourists across the world. Also, must-visit places include the Nageshwarnath temple, Ram Janmabhoomi temple, Hanuman Garhi, Kanak Bhawan and Treta Ke Thakur. You can also visit Mausoleum of Bahu Begum and Moti Mahal to witness the architecture of the Mughal era.


Read informative General Insurance Articles at Acko.

Having a vehicle insurance policy helps protect against damages to your vehicle under various circumstances. Stay upto date with the latest Car Insurance Articles and Two Wheeler Insurance Articles here.

Read all our insurance & non insurance related articles here.