Bank holidays are days when banks have a day off. The offices are shut and the employees get to rest. However, you can perform certain banking transactions online even if the offices are closed. Bank holidays in West Bengal can be on different days than any other Indian state because of the unique festivals celebrated over there. National holidays such as Independence Day are included in West Bengal’s bank holidays.

West Bengal Bank Holidays List 2020 - Acko

People should be aware of Bank holidays in West Bengal in 2020 so that they can plan and do not miss out on making crucial banking transactions. A list of West Bengal holidays in 2020 is declared at the beginning of the year to create awareness. West Bengal’s bank holidays in 2020 take into consideration national days and state-specific festivals.

West Bengal Bank Holidays Calendar:

As a basic guideline, one should know that Sundays and Second and Fourth Saturdays of the month are declared as bank holidays calendar in West Bengal.  Mentioned below is a table showing the bank holiday’s list in West Bengal. Note that the below-mentioned West Bengal’s bank holiday list may be subject to changes.

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During January:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11-Jan Second Saturday
Sunday 12-Jan Swami Vivekanand Jayanti
Thursday 23-Jan Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti
Saturday 25-Jan Fourth Saturday
Sunday 26-Jan Republic Day
Wednesday 29-Jan Vasant Panchami

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During February:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8-Feb Second Saturday
Saturday 22-Feb Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During March:

Day Date Holiday Name
Tuesday 10-Mar Holi
Saturday 14-Mar Second Saturday
Saturday 28-Mar Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During April:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 10-Apr Good Friday
Saturday 11-Apr Second Saturday
Tuesday 14-Apr Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti/Bengali New year
Saturday 25-Apr Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During May:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 1-May May Day
Thursday 7-May Buddha Purnima
Friday 8-May Guru Rabindranath Jayanti
Saturday 9-May Second Saturday
Saturday 23-May Fourth Saturday
Sunday 24-May Eid-Ul-Fitr

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During June:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 13-Jun Second Saturday
Saturday 27-Jun Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During July:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11-Jul Second Saturday
Saturday 25-Jul Fourth Saturday
Friday 31-July Bakri Eid

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During August:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 8-Aug Second Saturday
Saturday 15-Aug Independence Day
Saturday 22-Aug Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During September:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12-Sep Second Saturday
Thursday 17-Sep Mahalaya Amavasya
Saturday 26-Sep Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During October:

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 02-Oct Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday 10-Oct Second Saturday
Friday 23-Oct Maha Saptami
Saturday 24-Oct Maha Ashtami
Sunday 25-Oct Maha Navami
Sunday 26-Oct Vijaya Dashami
Saturday 31-Oct Lakshmi Puja

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During November:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 14-Nov Diwali
Saturday 28-Nov Fourth Saturday
Monday 30-Nov Guru Nanak Jayanti

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During December:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12-Dec Second Saturday
Friday 25-Dec Christmas
Saturday 26-Dec Fourth Saturday

Check: Bank Holidays List 2020 in India

Note: The holidays mentioned in the above table are applicable throughout West Bengal including the following cities.

  • Kolkata
  • Asansol
  • Siliguri
  • Durgapur
  • Bardhaman
  • English Bazaar
  • Berhampore
  • Habra
  • Kharagpur
  • Darjeeling

Check: India Public Holidays List 2020

Places to Visit in West Bengal:

Here’s a list of popular places to visit in West Bengal.

Kolkata: Kolkata is one of India’s top cities. It is synonymous with Bengali food, especially sweet dishes. The city is a cricket crazy and football fanatic. You can check out British Raj architecture in this metropolitan city.

Darjeeling: If you want to take a break from the fast-paced life of the city, what’s better than retiring to the mountains for a week and sip Darjeeling tea? Darjeeling is a tourist-friendly hill station in West Bengal and is known for its mesmerising mountains and tea gardens on them.

Kalimpong: If Darjeeling is too commercial for you, you can explore another hill station in West Bengal – Kalimpong. It is known for its tranquillity. You can find churches and monasteries in Kalimpong along with Tibetan handicrafts. Kalimpong offers a great view of the Himalayas.

Hooghly: Hooghly town and its Hooghly river have a historic significance. It has been influenced by the Portuguese, Mughals, and Britishers. In the modern age, Hooghly is known for its religious tourism and great food.

Sunderbans: If you love nature and adventure, you must plan a trip to the Sunderbans. It is famous as a national park and a tiger reserve. The ideal time to visit the park is from December to February.


Read informative General Insurance Articles at Acko.

Having a vehicle insurance policy helps protect against damages to your vehicle under various circumstances. Stay upto date with the latest Car Insurance Articles and Two Wheeler Insurance Articles here.

Read all our insurance & non insurance related articles here.